Dear Mom (notes from my boys)

Today my boys gave me a card they had made in honor of this first anniversary of Roger’s death.  And of course, before I even read it, there were tears. I knew they would offer loving, encouraging words that would honor their dad because they are the young men he raised them to be.

From Logan (15yo) — Dear Mom, You are the best mom anyone could ask for. You would do anything for me. You are always caring for me. You always know when I’m sad or if I need anything. I am glad you are my mom and that I also had the best dad ever. I love you.

 From Jordan (21yo) — Dear Mom, You have done great things for our family this past year. You have made sure we were alright. You have provided for our family and tackled things you never thought you could or would and more. Thank you for everything. I love you.

 From Dylan (20yo) — Dear Mom, Thank you for showing the world what it looks like to follow Christ. I love you. And I am looking forward to the book I know you are going to write some day. I hope you can enjoy this weekend away.

 So I will keep them. These boys of mine. And on this day of remembering, I am thankful for the sweet, gentle, loving memories they have added to it. Good memories so that the painful ones are not all that this day represents.

I love these boys of my heart and being. Today and on any given day.

11 Comments on “Dear Mom (notes from my boys)

  1. Debbie,
    I prayed for you and the boys today as I remembered the date a year ago. You are an amazing mother and woman of God. May you find peace today. We will continue to pray for you!
    Cindy

    Like

  2. Debbie, You are so loved, cherished, appreciated, treasured and treasured by your sons,friends and church family; but above all, you know our heavenly father is loving you and protecting you and has a purpose for you. You are an inspiration to all who are priviledged to know you. Caroline

    Like

  3. Beautiful, Debbie. Thanks for sharing your heart and their hearts with us! I’ve been thinking about you so much and praying. I’m so glad you did get some time away, too.

    Like

  4. Deb,
    I’ve been praying for you as the day approached and past. I know you must have been flooded with memories. You were able to get away? How was that? You are amazing and an inspiration to all who know you. That was so thoughtful of the boys to give you that card and so touching. You and Roger “dun” good. Of course God had a big hand in it too!

    Like

    • Yes, Jan, getting away was really good for us. ‘Think we needed to do that this weekend and we had a nice time. Thank you so much for your prayers. I always know that you care about us and always appreciate your lifting us to the Father, especially this past weekend. Love you!

      Like

  5. Pingback: The Day I Lied To The Internet | Any Given Day

Leave a Reply

