Who Said Anything About Safe?

In C. S. Lewis’ The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, the Beavers are describing the great lion, Aslan, to the children:

“You’ll understand when you see him,” said Mr. Beaver.

But shall we see him?” asked Susan.

“Why, Daughter of Eve, that’s what I brought you here for.  I’m to lead you where you shall meet him,” replied Mr. Beaver.

“Is – is he a man?” asked Lucy.

“Aslan a man?!” said Mr. Beaver sternly. “Certainly not. I tell you he is the King of the wood and the son of the great Emperor-beyond-the-Sea. Don’t you know who is the King of Beasts? Aslan is a lion – the Lion, the great Lion.”

“Ooh!” said Susan, “I’d thought he was a man. Is he – quite safe? I shall feel rather nervous about meeting a lion.”

“That you will, dearie, and no mistake,” said Mrs. Beaver; “if there’s anyone who can appear before Aslan without their knees knocking, they’re either braver than most or else just silly.”

“Then he isn’t safe?” said Lucy.

“Safe? Safe?” said Mr. Beaver; “Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe.  But he’s good.  He’s the King I tell you.”

 And Jesus, the Lion of Judah (Rev. 5:5), is, I think, no more “safe” than Aslan the lion who represents Jesus’ in Lewis’ book. I wonder where we (and Hollywood) ever got the idea that Jesus is or was soft and easy and safe. Jesus is and was revolutionary and radical, blowing everything “safe” out of the water.

“Do not think that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I have not come to bring peace, but a sword. For I have come to set a man against his father, and a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law. And a person’s enemies will be those of his own household. Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me, and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. And whoever does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me. Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.’ ––Matthew 10:34-39 (ESV)

Perhaps Matthew Ellison summed it up best: ‘Jesus orchestrated his own death, it’s not safe to follow a man like this.”

Indeed. Who said anything about safe? This is a dangerous love we follow. A dangerous King we bow down too. A dangerous kingdom we seek to inhabit.

But it’s also an amazing kingdom. And the King is the most benevolent of kings. And His marvelous love literally ransoms us.

So whenever life gets particularly difficult and trusting this Lion of Judah just seems too dangerous and formidable, I pray that I—daughter of Eve that I am—will  kneel around his forepaws and bury my hands and face in His mane, holding tightly to Him and trusting Him as if my very life depended on it. Trusting His goodness. Trusting His faithfulness. Trusting His wisdom. Trusting His love. Trusting Him.

Safe? Maybe not. But good? More than we can comprehend. Exceedingly and abundantly today and on any given day.

“See how great is the love the Father has lavished on us that we should be called children of God…”

1 John 3:1

________________

Subscribe to my blog at the top right of the page to receive email notification of new posts.

Follow me on Twitter  and Facebook.  

5 Comments on “Who Said Anything About Safe?

  1. You always speak to me at the right time,my friend. I found out this week I am bipolar II and OCD to add to all the physical stuff I went through. I admit I have been fearful and tired of medication that makes me feel loony. God sent me a message from a dear lady I didn’t even know who has the same thing and was praying for me in the Sunday Kid City huddle. Her words of encouragement and love came straight from the Lord to my heart!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

