An Alternative to Resolutions

Time for a new year. Maybe even some new “purposes.” But no resolutions. I’m not very good at keeping those. Actually, I’m not even good at remembering them.

I do find, however, that there’s something natural and encouraging about starting a new year with intentionality for that year. So one of the ways I will be purposed in the new year is by taking time to contemplate the past year. It’s an alternative that works better for me. And in fact, it’s a good way to make the happenings of the old count for good in the new. On any given day.

Reflections for 2010

  1. What was the single best thing that happened this past year?
  2. What was the single most challenging thing that happened?
  3. What was an unexpected joy this past year?
  4. What was an unexpected obstacle?
  5. What was the best thing learned this year?
  6. What was the single biggest time waster in my life this year?
  7. What were the three best books I read this year?
  8. In what ways did I grow emotionally?
  9. In what ways did I grow spiritually?
  10. In what ways did I grow physically?
  11. In what ways did I grow in my relationships with others?
  12. In what ways did I grow in my relationship with God?
Leave a Reply

