The Song I Sing

When I first lost Roger and was sure I would never make it through the deep valley of the shadow of death, there was a song I would sing in the valley.

Whenever the reality and trauma of Roger’s suicide would threaten to overwhelm me, I would sing that song.

In the deep, dark of midnight as I lay a jumble of nerves and fear and what seemed unbearable heartache and pain, wondering how in the world I could go on, I would sing this song.

When some would ask me how I could continue to trust in God in the face of all that He had allowed to happen, I would sing this song.

When still others would ask how I could even believe in God anymore, I would sing this song.

And at the end of the day, when there was no one and nothing left but me and Jesus and pain, I would sing this song. To Jesus. With every ounce of courage I could muster, I would sing this prayer to Him.

You can listen to this song if you’d like:  If You Want Me To (by Ginny Owens.*)

When I would sing my song (for that’s what it became–my song),  I determined, like the character Much-Afraid in the book  Hinds Feet On High Places, to follow the Good Shepherd to the high places no matter how difficult the journey. No matter how many times I fell along the way or scraped my knees or cut my hands or caught my foot in a crevice or tripped over debris in my path. I would hold His hand and follow His path and sing my song to Him. And even now, there are still those times when all I can do is sit with my song and my pain and sing my prayer to Jesus.

What about you? Do you have a song? I don’t know what you might be dealing with today, what sorrow or tragedy or fear or difficulty might weigh you down. But I know there is a song for you. Sometimes only a song can adequately express our deepest, heartfelt emotions and feelings—our fears and our hopes, our pain and our joy, our doubt and our faith.

So find your song and when you do, sing it. On any given day or through any bleak-filled, midnight hour, sing your song to Him. And if you ever feel so overwhelmed that you just can’t sing, know that is o.k. too. He will sing over you.

The Lord your God is with you, He is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.” –Zephaniah 3:17

____________________

7 Comments on “The Song I Sing

  1. Oh, thank you for sharing your heart. And thank you for introducing me to this singer-songwriter. Love & prayers, Debbie.

    Like

  2. I know that song and now it means even more to know how it was used as your tender prayer. I never knew the gifted singer-songwriter is blind. Heaven knows she sees clearly in oh so many other ways. Blessings, friend.

    Like

  3. Thanks for sharing that Debbie. Love you!

    I DO have a song! It is “I have to believe” by Rita Springer. I remember days when I would just put it on repeat. . .and let it play. . .over and over. . .even when I couldn’t sing the words. . .I knew I needed to hear them, so I just let them play. You can hear it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HttGLvjh8_8

    God is SO amazing! Last year, Rita Springer came to Cary and spoke at a little church and led worship there and at the very end. . .She sang MY song (because you know she wrote it Just for ME!!! RIGHT?!?!). Afterwards I got to meet her and tell her just how much that song meant to me and the depths of despair it brought me through. She, of course, gave all the glory to God. . .as do I.. . It was a full circle moment that God allowed me to have. I am forever grateful.

    Like

  4. Pingback: February’s Book On The Shelf (“Restless”) | Any Given Day

Leave a Reply

