There’s This Girl I Know

So there’s this girl I know. And in the back of her car she carries around pre-packaged meals and bottles of water. Know why? So when she’s driving and she comes across one of the homeless in her city, she can give them a meal. Right then and there.

And she tells them her name and asks them theirs. She says she asks their name because it helps them feel like someone notices them as a human being. And she tells them they matter to God and that He, of course, always notices them. And she promises she’ll pray for them beyond just this moment. And they seem surprised by her kindness but thankful for the meal.

She does it because of Jesus, because He said, “I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink...” (Matt. 25:35). And she believes Jesus when He said, “…when you did it to one of the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were doing it to me.” (Matt. 25:40). And I think she does it because she loves Jesus and truly wants be like Him. “Be imitators of God, therefore, as dearly loved children.” (Eph. 5.1)

And here’s the real kicker. I wouldn’t even have known she does this except I happened to be riding with her in her car recently when, while on our way to someplace, she needed to stop and serve one of the “least of these” that came across our path.

And I was so moved by her compassion. And it made me ponder when was the last time I planned ahead for that kind of compassion and was at the ready to meet another’s needs with such preparedness. And I was humbled by her firm grasp of mercy. And I prayed that I will remember to be as intentionally compassionate in my daily comings and goings as she.

I love her, this daughter-in-law of mine. I am continually amazed by her warmth, caring, and servant-heart attitude. And although she is 20+ years younger than me, I want to be like her when I grow up.

So Christina Dodson, I pray that on any given day you will know that your commitment to Christ, obedience to His teachings, and love for his commandments are reaching more hearts than just the homeless. Like mine, for instance. And I pray that God will bless you. That He will really and truly bless you.

Leave a Reply

