That Grace Thing

I think it’s hard. That grace thing. It’s messy. Inconvenient. Disruptive. Time consuming. And I find I don’t usually feel like giving it. What’s more, extending it to others usually costs something. (Just ask Jesus.)

So what does grace cost me? Having things my way. Seeing to only my own needs and wants. Convenience. A misplaced pride in being right. My judgmental attitude. Justification for my judgmental attitude.

“She made her bed; she’ll have to lie in it.”

“He should know better. There’s really no excuse.”

“She should just stop doing that. If it was important enough to her, she’d stop.”

“Really? He chose that path? Well, let’s see how that works out for him.”

What in the world would I do if Jesus responded to me like that? Where in the world would I be? Because trust me, He should. And trust me, I’d deserve it. Funny thing is, when it’s my turn, I want grace to know no bounds.

“I didn’t mean to hurt you.”

“I shouldn’t have been so careless.”

“I made a stupid choice.”

“I knew better than that.”

Yes, when I say those things (and even when I don’t), I want grace. In fact, I want others to, like God, “give more grace.” (James 4:6) Not what I deserve or what I’ve earned. No, I want the God-given, forgiveness-cleansing, hurt-healing, life-changing, all-powerful grace of God to pour over every sin, unwise choice, thoughtless word, regretful act, and unholy thought I possess.

I need that grace thing. And so do you. And so do they.

Wouldn’t it be great if God caught us extending the most undeserving grace towards others in the midst of their circumstances? After all, a little grace in our hands becomes amazing grace in God’s hands. And you know what happens with God’s grace, don’t you? It saves a wretch like me. And you. And them. On any given day.

7 Comments on “That Grace Thing

  1. Pingback: A Farewell Tribute to My Angel – Part 6 – Sharon Penner

  2. Pingback: GRACE TO THE HUMBLE! « "Working for Christ"

  3. Yes indeed honesty is what God loves,thanks for sharing I love this post and God’s “Amazing Grace”!! Have a wonderful evening Debbie 😀 Love you

    Like

  4. Pingback: I Will Never Be The Same! | Good Devotionals

  5. Pingback: God’s Grace « bummyla

Leave a Reply

