When You Wish You Didn’t Exist

I read someone else’s deeply honest blog posting last week and I can only imagine the courage it took to let the world in on his struggles. He’s a popular Christian worship leader and speaker and I admire that he shared honestly about his ongoing struggle with depression and anxiety. 

The author’s honesty took me to another place, another time—three years ago with my husband, Roger. As I sat reading this author’s words and struggling to contain the rising emotions and memories, I kept thinking, is this what it was like for Roger? Is this what he felt? Were his last days filled with this? Were they worse?

They must have been. No one takes his or her own life without a tremendous amount of depression, despair and anxiety.

I remember a few of the conversations Roger and I had at the time (when I could get him to talk about it at all) after he lost his job of 23 years. He would speak of constant feelings of inadequacy and failure and consuming fears for the future. I remember that his hyper anxiety seemed so out of proportion to the reality of the situation. I didn’t really understand. Not the depths of that kind of depression.

Now, not a day goes by (literally, not one day) that I don’t think of Roger and of that time in his life (our lives), and I am tormented by the questions. What if I’d understood more? What if I’d tried harder? What if I’d dug deeper? What if I’d asked more questions? What if I’d asked another person? What if I’d just known then what I know now? What it? What if? What if?

I don’t know the answer to those questions. I probably never will. But I do know this, and I need you to hear this. If you struggle with this kind of depression, anxiety and/or despair, you need to tell someone. You need to tell them and you need to let them help you. You need to let them help you when you can’t help yourself. There are doctors and counselors and medications and a whole host of people ready to help you. Willing to help you. Let them. Let us. Let God.

Because I don’t think it’s too much of a stretch to say that on any given day, any one of us is just one devastating event or heartbreaking season away from wishing we didn’t exist.

#  #  #

Carlos Whittaker of Ragamuffin Soul writes about A Day in the Life of This Christian Living With Anxiety/Depression.”  

You can also read my son’s post (Dylan Dodson).

11 Comments on “When You Wish You Didn’t Exist

  1. wow Debbie .. I love you girl .. And i am going to pray right now that God will use this word to help and bless others .. and that you feel His comfort and peace.. Thank you for being honest and real and sharing your heart!

    Like

  2. Totally love you and wholeheartedly agree! As one that faced ending my own life, I am reminded that I am not too far from that place. Thank you for your courage and transparency as God uses all things to bring to light our ever constant need of Him.

    Like

    • Love you too, my friend. I know you have great understanding about this and although I wish that weren’t the case, I so appreciate that you use that understanding to help meet the needs of others.

      Like

  3. Debbie, the pain of the “what if’s…” must be overwhelming. How beautiful of you to turn that grief into the hope of “never again.” Your encouragement for people to share and seek help is important. When we feel there is no way out, others can’t point the way to the light until they know where we are in the darkness.

    Like

  4. wow…as a person that has had anxiety most my life….I understand, that part. I have never been down a dark road of depression/despair..but I have asked many a time, why? but it has been brought to my attention, that its ok…that sometimes things get me..but God is always there and he loves me just as I am. But hey.. a little half of a diaz when needed and/or a counseling session for a tune up is always there….but its ok, its not that I am not good enough, or faithful enough or ….I am Toni
    You bless me by your strength….no what ifs!

    Like

  5. Pingback: The Day I Lied To The Internet | Any Given Day

  6. Pingback: I Remember You By Heart | Any Given Day

  7. Pingback: With All My Heart | Any Given Day

Leave a Reply

