What’s On Your Nightstand?

photo-31“Sleep is good, he said, And books are better.” — George R. R. Martin.

Wow. I haven’t posted on my blog in quite awhile. Where does the time go? (translation: where does the discipline go?)

So in the interest of putting my foot back in the water (or in the bed, as it were), I thought I’d start with a light summer fare theme: what’s on your nightstand? Books, I mean. Even the ones on your Kindle or Nook.

This is a current photo of the books on my nightstand. The ones I’m reading and the ones waiting to be read. There are a few other fiction ones on my Nook/iPad as well (if you look really close you can see my (red) iPad leaning against the headboard). Although I read a lot of fiction on my iPad, I actually prefer to read non-fiction in “real” physical books so I can highlight passages or underline parts or make notes to read back over at another time.

And the books waiting for their place on my nightstand? There are a few written on lists in Evernote and Trello, on scraps of paper around my desk at work, linked in my Amazon “wish list” folder, and even scribbled on pages in my Bible (which, by the way, if I literally could only take one book to a deserted island with me, it would be this one.)

So, in the spirit of fair sharing and a little fun amongst friends, what are yours? What books or book is on your nightstand? What are you reading right now? Fiction or non-fiction, what’s waiting to be read? Pop into the comments section below and give us your low down. And who knows? I/we might even add yours to our “to read” lists!

Go on…post below…I’ll wait…

16 Comments on “What’s On Your Nightstand?

  1. I don’t dare take a picture of the mess. Currently reading Gilead. On tap: Radical Hospitality, Life of the Beloved, Dinner: A Love Story, The Other Typist. Underneath the nightstand, about 25 more books are stacked up. Oh dear.

    Like

  2. Thanks for the post, Debbie. I’m currently reading “The Tipping Point” by Malcolm Gladwell on my Kindle. Next up is a biography of Spurgeon by Dan Harmon. Waiting for me on my Wish List are (in no particular order) Jim Collins’ “Good to Great,” AW Tozer’s “The Knowledge of the Holy,” Ken Coleman’s “One Question,” Mark Driscoll’s “Death by Love,” John Sailhamer’s “Genesis Unbound,” and several others.

    Like

    • You’ve got a few on your list that I have on my “to read” list too. Guess it’s true–great minds think alike. Or should that be, “read alike?” 🙂 Thanks for posting yours!

      Like

  3. Debbie .. I read 3 Nicholas Sparks books last week at the beach .. The Notebook… had seen parts of the movie, but never read it .. it was great… then I read The Rescue .. then I read Safe Haven .. (cause those were easily available from a neighbor.. I had seen Safe Haven movie) .. I think I want to read “The Best of me” … by Him.. it came out after Safe Haven I think .. summer reading.. Light and fun! Love your blogs..

    Like

    • Oooo, so want to read “Safe Haven.” Unfortunately, haven’t gotten to that one yet. Don’t know anything about “The Rescue.” Will have to check it out, as well as “The Best of Me.” Great summer easy-breezy reading list! Love me some good fiction always. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

      Like

  4. My niece, Aubrie Lewis, strongly recommended Safe Haven…will get to it; cry so with Sparks. I do love the fiction like Daisy Chain…any Mary Demuth and LOVE LOVE LOVE The Shack…an oldie but goodie and a wonderful description of the Trinity’s provision. Currently reading More Than a Carpenter….I think a good study guide, maybe consideration for small group as it provides a lot of historical fact and asks for personal input. Life at Work is an eyeopener…good guidance and highlights my broken spirit and provides practical suggestions to heal weaknesses ad stresses. The Case For Christ….again a great outline, argument, and proof of the ligitimacy and preservation of the New Testament. Undeniable and miraculous truths brought to light in an age of scientific need and, more importantly, spiritual need.

    If in need of a more missionary inspiration, read Tortured for Christ by Richard Wurmbrand; this is a true story, a Godly testimony of a man, a family, a martyr that raises awareness through sacrifice and witness. If ever a saint be heard……I’d like to set a spell, for about a lifetime!

    Debbie, love you so for all you do for God and all His children. You rock…keep rolling, because of His love we LIVE!

    Cindy Hueter

    Like

      • About eight to ten at one time are stacked. The stack gets so high I can’t stand it then they go on the floor. I am always reading a cookbook. So many are ones you have given me. I love getting them you can never have too many.

        Like

  5. Dinner: A Love Story, which is waiting for me, is actually a cookbook and a fabulous blog. If you like to cook, that is. I mean to buy it, but was excited to get to peruse the library’s copy first.

    Like

  6. Jesus Calling (daily dev), God of All Comfort(someone made me read), The Necklace, The Bone Bed, Island Girls, Second Wind. I always have many going at the same time for some reason. I am reading The Necklace again, because I loved it so much years ago. I have also never read a book twice. Much nicer than I thought it would be….so many things I forgot. The Bible is on my iPad now. Have finally gotten use to it. Stil, though, have my old faithful that proudly looks a mess.

    Like

    • Yes, that “God of All Comfort” book is one of the best. 🙂 I’ve considered “The Necklace” and it sounds like I should definitely reconsider it. And like you, I don’t read a book twice–well, I don’t read a fiction book twice. I will read a non-fiction book twice for the learning and reminding. (You know, like “God of all Comfort.” 🙂 Appreciate your sharing here!

      Like

Leave a Reply

